The date in recent history: 10 years of recognition of independence by the Republic of Nauru

Mon, 16/12/2019 - 14:49

In December 2009, Nauru became the fourth country to recognize South Ossetia. On December 16, 2009, diplomatic relations were established between Nauru and South Ossetia.

In February 2018, an agreement was signed on the refusal of visa formalities for mutual trips of citizens of the two states.

In accordance with the agreement, citizens of a state of one party can enter, leave, transit and stay on the territory of the respective states without visas for 90 days during each half-year, starting from the date of first entry.

Nauru is a state in the southwestern Pacific. The area of ​​the country is 21.2 km. The total number of inhabitants on the island of Nauru is 14019 people. Most of the population (58%) are Nauru, the rest are Melanesians (26%), Chinese (8%), Europeans (8%).

The Republic of Nauru is an independent parliamentary republic. The head of state and government is president, elected from among parliamentarians for three years. Members of the government are appointed by president from among members of parliament. Since 1992, the Council of the island of Nauru has been operating in the state, which has the status of an advisory body that monitors the observance of traditions. Administratively, the island is divided into 14 districts. The official language - Nauru and English.

Мой мир