Bella Plieva: “The Central Election Commission of South Ossetia is ready for the election to the Parliament”

Fri, 29/05/2009 - 09:46

Public announcements on the results of voting, interim and final results of the Parliamentary election will be made at the Informational Center “Parliamentary Election 2009”. Bella Plieva, the Chairperson of the Central Election Commission told this at the opening ceremony of the Center.
According to Plieva, on the voting day, data will be accumulating at the Informational Center from all polling stations on the territory of South Ossetia, as well as from North Ossetia-Alania and from the polling station No. 95 in Moscow at the South Ossetian diplomatic mission premises. “On 31 May at 10 a.m. the Informational Center will be opened, in the work of which members of Central Election Commission (CEC) will participate with deliberative and casting vote right, representatives of political parties, public organizations, official structures, and representatives of South Ossetian and foreign mass media, international observers and other actors will also be at the Center”, said Plieva. He stressed that interim and final voting results of the Parliamentary election will be announced at the Center”.
”In order to ensure broader covering and informing of the population on the interim voting results, transmission screen to show the results from the Center will be placed at the central city square in Tskhinval. Information on the voting process and results update will be placed on the web-page of the CEC of the RSO”, said Plieva. The updated results will be presented on the screen as a diagram which will be revised every two hours. According to the CEC Chair, staring at 22:00 on 31 May, a table of results will be placed on the screen updated upon information received.”
“At 10 a.m. on 1 June, you will see the table with preliminary results with the number of voters submitted for parties’ nominee lists (titles of the parties are placed in the same order as in the voting bulletin), in the right column of the table you may find the preliminary number of seats”, said Plieva.
According to information of the CEC, “all polling stations are ready for election”, stressed Plieva.
Four political parties participate in the fifth Parliamentary election: “Edinstvo”, Communist Party, People’s Pary and Fydybasta (Motherland). The election will take place on 31 May. The first 34 MPs will be elected upon proportionate system, that is the seats will be distributed among parties proportionately to the number of votes cast for the Republican party lists, but only those parties, for the lists of which there will be 7% and more voters. On the election day, 5 territorial elections commissions will be working (Tskhinval election commission, and commissions in four districts of South Ossetia – Znaur, Tskhinval, Leningor and Djava) and the Central Election Commission of the RSO.

Мой мир